Porkth Of July III (in August!)

Pre trimmed

Pre trimmed

I’ve had a pork butt in my freezer for a few months now. I expected to cook it on July 4th, for my annual Porkth of July, but things got in the way. So I ended up having to cook it in August. It took 3 days to defrost, and the weather wasn’t looking great. I wasn’t going to let that stop me.

Ready to be injected

Ready to be injected

I trimmed it very little, and then attempted to inject it with Big Bob Gibson’s Championship injection. But then my injector broke halfway through. So I ended up just stabbing it a bunch, and pouring the injection over half of it. Oh well. The plan was to cook it between 250 – 275. I cooked it to 160, then wrapped it with some apple juice and worcestershire.

In the rain!

In the rain!

I started the coals at 7:15am, and set up a little rain rig. It actually worked out pretty well. Once the smoker hit 275 degrees, I through some applewood and hickory on the coals and added the meat. After an hour, I realize that while I was busy worrying about the weather, I put the pork on without rubbing it, ah geez. I rushed out there and poured rub all over the pork, and patted it down with rubber gloves on.

Pull Me!

Pull Me!

It hit 160 degrees at around 12:30. I wrapped it, and it was smooth sailing until the end. This is probably the 6th time I have used my Weber Smokey Mountain, and it is finally holding temperatures without much trouble. I have to mess with the vents a bit, every once in a while, but nothing too bad.

Gotta protect the Maverick

Gotta protect the Maverick

All pulled!

All pulled!

The pork hit 195 degrees at 5:50pm. I pulled it off the smoker and let it sit for a half hour. The bone pulled right out, perfectly tender. I Poured out the juices and pulled it with my new claws. Then I added back some of the juices, with some apple cider vinegar and homemade BBQ sauce.

Ready to be eaten

Ready to be eaten

Leave a Reply

