4.20.14 Easter Brined BBQ Chicken

So I haven’t posted in a while. I was busy making something else, a baby. Marisa and I are expecting our first child in June. I’m not going to get into the details of how I made that. But I did brine and grill a whole chicken for Easter.

The chicken floating in a bag of brine

The chicken floating in a bag of brine

I made a simple brine of water, salt, sugar, chili powder, onion powder, and some peppercorns. I let the brine soak in for two hours(osmosis baby!). I patted off the excess brine from the outside of the chicken. After that, I butterflied it, so it would lay flat on the grill and have more surface area to get crispy skin. After that I oiled the outside of the skin. I didn’t put any rub on the chicken, because I didn’t want to add any more salt, due to the large amount of salt in the brine.

After the brined, the chicken was butterflied.

After the brined, the chicken was butterflied.

Set up the Grill for indirect grilling

Set up the Grill for indirect grilling

I lit a full chimney of coals, and prepped the grill. I got a brand new grate for my grill, so I made sure to clean and grease the grate before throwing the chicken on. I dumped the coals to one side of the grill, so I had a hot and a cooler zone. I put the chicken on the hot side skin down first for a few minutes to get a little crispy skin and some grill marks. I flipped the bird and moved it to the cool side. I also pointed the legs to the fire, so the breast wouldn’t over cook. I put the cover on and sat back.

Near the end of the cook.

Near the end of the cook.

I let the chicken cook 90% of the way, while I enjoyed the sun (and a few beers.) I checked every once in a while to make sure nothing was getting too hot or sticking. When it was mostly done I started saucing the chicken and moved it back to the hot side skin side down. Getting some nice caramelization. I added a few layers of my homemade KC style sauce. I checked the temps in all the areas with my trusty Thermapen. (well worth the price. A great investment)

Made some fries too!

Regular & Sweet Potato

Since I was outside, I got an extension cord and fried up some potatoes. Sweet potato and regular french fries. As I dumped the first batch in the frier, the frier overflowed with oil, and stained my stoop (oops!) I double fried each batch and dumped them on a paper towel. A nice side dish for a chicken dinner.

Crispy sauced skin

Here is the almost finished product. I usually get too excited to eat, and forget to take that one last picture. So this is as close to finished that I documented. I let the chicken sit for 15 minutes, and then carved it up. The chicken was moist and juicy, and not overly salty, which I was worried about. The brine definitely let the whole chicken stay moist. I would brine a whole chicken again, and I probably would make it exactly the same.

Leave a Reply

