8.18.13 Pulled Pork Empanadas

Pulled Pork Empanadas

When you make 15lbs of pork for 2 people, you tend to get leftovers.  Sure I could make less, but why waste that smoker space?  I have to use the same amount of fuel anyways, and more meat doesn’t usually extend cooking time.  It just makes more sense to make more meat.  I have a vacuum sealer, and BBQ tends to freeze and reheat  very well, especially pulled pork and brisket.

 

Heating up the pork.

So on the Porkth of July II, I made a Pork Butt and a Picnic.  That’s 15lbs of pork.  Probably around 11lbs after it was cooked.  So I made 3 large vacuum sealed bags and froze them.

Wonton wrappers

On Sunday I pulled one of those bags out of the freezer.  I heated up some hot water, and let the pork start to reheat inside the bag.  Once it was unfrozen and warm, I put a spoonful in a wonton wrapper.

Ready to go in the oven.

It was easy enough, but definitely time consuming.  After I got a few trays worth, I sprayed them with some nonstick spray, and popped them in the oven for 10 minutes.  What a great little snack to make with the leftover pork, and much less messy than the whole sandwich.  I didn’t have any BBQ sauce left, so I ate them without dipping them, but next time I will be sure to have some prepared.

Time to eat!

The pork tasted exactly as it did fresh on the 4th.  Smokey, sweet, spicy, with a little tang of the vinegar.   It went really well with the crunch of the crust.

Leave a Reply

