7.4.13 Porkth of July II

The Porkth of July II
The second Porkth of July! This year I finally tracked down a pork butt. For some reason, in NYC it is near impossible to get an untrimmed butt. The Picnic is easy to find, but I wanted to smoke a good ole Boston Butt. After tracking one down at a butcher shop, and paying more than I should’ve (actually Marisa picked it up, and paid, sucker!), the first part was over. That got me thinking, now that I have my new WSM, why waste all that room? So I went to the grocery store, and picked up a picnic (on $ale! too)

1 Butt from the butcher and 1 picnic from the grocery store

1 Butt from the butcher and 1 picnic from the grocery store

Injected with an apple juice and hot sauce mixture.  Some other ingredients too.

Injected with an apple juice and hot sauce mixture. Some other ingredients too.

As usual, my method was a combination of several recipes. I didn’t want to smoke it for 14 hours, but I also didn’t want to do it hot and fast. I basically went with an augmented Big Bob Gibson recipe combined with a Slap Yo Daddy recipe. I didn’t do much trimming, except for removing the skin on the picnic. I chose to inject this baby, so I didn’t have to do a lot of mopping and opening the smoker, extending cook times. The injection was made up of apple juice, water, sugar, BBQ rub, hot sauce, salt and Worcestershire.

Rubbed it down with this stuff

Rubbed it down with this stuff

After I got both injected, I rubbed it down with some McCoy’s rub. In the past I have made my own rub, but I have so many bottles of rub, there is no point in making my own right now. Most are similar, and get the job done quite nicely. I was happy with the ingredient list, so I covered the pork in olive oil, and rubbed it down nicely. Into the fridge it went, to sit overnight. I made sure to put it in a pan, because last time the injected pork leaked through all 3 bags all over the fridge.

Smokin!

I woke at 7 am (earlier than I do for work, yuck) I lit the coals at 7:30 am. For some reason the 20 or so coals I lit took forever, and I didn’t get them into the smoker for almost an hour. Not sure what happened there. I had the chamber filled with unlit coals and some applewood chips and hickory chunks. The smoker got up to temp, and the meat went on at 8:30 am.

Right where I want it!

Right where I want it!

The smoker held it’s temps very well. Since it was a new smoker, I was worried about high temps. It pretty much sat where I wanted (between 250 and 275.) I did have to fiddle with the dampers, and knock some ashes off a few times though.

Chillin'

Chillin’

Ready to be wrapped

Ready to be wrapped

The pork was right on schedule, I estimated to wrap the pork at 1:30, and hoping the meat would be 150 degrees. Sure enough it was, and it was wrapped with some juice, butter, beer and hot sauce.

What is a BBQ without beer?

What is a BBQ without beer?

blade bone

I was estimating to be eating 6 or 7 pm or so, but the pork cooked fast, and hit it’s 190 mark by 4:30. I let it sit in the pan for an hour. Since it was finished so early, we trucked it over to Marisa’s parents for a BBQ. (Selfish me, had planned on cooking 15lbs of pork for just Marisa and I.) Once we got there I pulled it and the bones pulled out without any difficulty.

It fell apart in my hands

It fell apart in my hands

Pulling it was a breeze, and the bark survived the wrapping pretty well. Marisa made coleslaw, and I had some homemade BBQ sauce I made the week before. I added some apple juice and hot sauce (also homemade) to it, for it to be more of a pulled pork sauce.

Topped with sauce and slaw

Topped with sauce and slaw

The pork was super moist, and was a big hit. The leftovers went into food saver bags, vacuum sealed, and into the freezer. I can’t wait to have some delicious pulled pork in the middle of the winter. I just need to throw the bags into some hot water, and some more sauce, and I am good to go!

Click here for my full cooking log.

One thought on “7.4.13 Porkth of July II

Leave a Reply

